She’s Fourty

It happened. The Stud texted me last night, and in a conversation about each of our weekends, he mentioned that he had been on a date last Friday. And then proceeded to tell me he is feeling butterflies. Excuse me? I asked if this was someone that would change his mind about not wanting anything serious. He said he’d go into it open minded and see what happened. A little offended, I told him that at least he could now stop waiting for someone better to come along. He said that wasn’t what he was doing. I told him I didn’t want to talk about it.

She’s fourty and has a three year old. Seriously. She’s pretty (yes of course I looked her up) and I couldn’t help but be upset. More so than I thought I would be. He said he didn’t want a relationship. He does, just not with me. And as much as I knew that, it still hurts a little.

Even though I had been in so much doubt about to what extent he was using me, and if it was turning out to be more of a benefit for him than me, my reaction to the news was significant. Today I told him just that. He was understanding, and had kind of seen this coming by me not wanting to talk about it. He suggested we meet after the weekend and talk about it, face to face.

I’m not sure what the point is seeing as I am not good enough and apparently never will be, but it might be good to get it off my chest. If he doesn’t change his mind. I have always said he’s not a dick, and this is his chance to prove it.

All in all, I’ve got myself to blame for this one. I told myself I could do it when clearly I cheated myself. Maybe I should put the whole dating thing on hold for a while. It’s definitely not been working out for me lately, and there’s only so much rejection I can take.

13 thoughts on “She’s Fourty

  1. Oh hon. So sorry. Been there, got the t-shirt. Definitely time to exit gracefully stage-left. Not sure I’d put myself through the face to face but it might be closure. Urgh. So sorry. Just a horrible situation for you. Big virtual hugs xx

  2. Noooo, not “I’m not good enough for him” – he’s clearly not good enough for you. You did nothing wrong, he’s not right for you, move on ☺
    Good luck.

  3. You know what? Screw him! …screw 40 year old women…screw rejection…screw not feeling good enough. Get angry…get pissed…and then go find another Stud to have some Studly sex with 🙂

  4. Can you take a month or three before seeing him to discuss anything? What is there to discuss? You being his cheerleader as he dates this woman and/or being the back up sex buddy if it turns out this woman’s kid hates him and he’s told buh bye? You can do what you want but there’s nothing wrong with taking the time to consider what’s best for you.

Leave a Reply

