The Ginger… Continued.

Yes, there’s a part 2! We had been in touch quite a bit after that first date. When I returned home after the workday, I found a bunch of coins in my bed that night. I took a picture, sent it to him with a joke to say thanks for the tip. Later, he told me he had been driving and almost bumped into another car laughing so hard. Pretty quickly, he said I should teach him yoga, and he’d teach me to play the piano. We settled on Wednesday.

When I mentioned that it would be a short date considering I would come to his, which is a good hour away, and after work at that, he very coyly asked if I wasn’t going to stay? Obviously I was. I took a train, got to his city at 8pm, and he picked me up to go back to his place. When you have a first date at a bar with noise, people around and things to see, house dates could be terribly awkward if it turns out you have nothing to talk about, so I was a little nervous. But when I got into the car, everything was fine.

His apartment was a typical man flat; black furniture, musical instruments everywhere and bare bulbs on the ceiling. I wasn’t bothered by it. He’d done some wine shopping, and we talked, and talked. He’s a lot more expressive than I am (though he hasn’t really picked up on it yet) and mentioned how he sometimes feels lonely coming home from a tour, but at the same time struggles with knowing there’s things he will have to compromise on considering how hard he works and how much he loves what he does. We were interrupted a few times, by his parents that called, a friend that dropped things off, but none of it was awkward. We talked some more, tried to watch a movie, but then went to bed as there was no point.

And then as soon as he dropped his pants I couldn’t help but laugh. He was wearing boxer briefs with a big tiger on it. I poked fun at him a bit for being so badly prepared for the night, and he quickly admitted I had done a whole lot better. Sex was good, we had fun with it, and we were perfectly comfortable. Afterwards, we talked for a long time, but I didn’t ask him about his remark from last time. He asked me if I’d been on any hot dates since last week and when I asked him the same he said no, though that’s as far as it went.

And then it turned out to be one of those night where you just don’t fall asleep. I didn’t, he didn’t. We tossed and turned, talked for a bit, tried to sleep, he went on a mosquito hunt, and that was just the end of it. I think in the end we both had about half an hour of sleep. We got up tired, he took me back to the train station, kissed goodbye and he went back to bed.

The same day we settled on date number 3. And that presents the first challenge. He’s on tour this weekend, home for a few days, and then leaves to go on tour for two weeks. And just in the days he is home, I need to travel for work. Though at least this time I stay in the country and should finish on time on Wednesday, hopefully that works out if he doesn’t fly too early on Thursday. I happen to have two weeks off from work when he’s on tour, which he knows, and he mentioned to have a look at his agenda and see if he can come home in between shows. Big thing!

So for Wednesday, my plan is to keep it casual. He even mentioned to try and not have sex (bonus points) but then took it back with a joke later. He probably should be careful what he wishes for anyway as my period is due then! I figured if he still wants to see me after his tour, it’s time to carefully steer the conversation to how to go forward.

But yes, I definitely do like him more each time I see him, and that’s a scary thing. The thought that he might actually like me back scares me equally, so just in case he doesn’t, I am trying to not get too excited.

2 thoughts on “The Ginger… Continued.

Leave a Reply

